Heritage introduction

Notts Hollinwell has a long, proud and distinguished heritage which dates from the club’s origin in 1887 on Nottingham’s Bulwell Common to the current heathland course at Hollinwell, which sits so beautifully in the heart of Byron country and within the historic boundary of Sherwood Forest.

Legend has it that Robin Hood sat on the hillside rock above what is now the 2nd green. Just beyond the 8th tee lies the the Holy Well from which the course derives its name and which for centuries, provided refreshing spring water for the monks of Newstead Abbey and now for Hollinwell golfers.

Currently ranked as the UK’s 40th best course by Golf World Top 100 and by National Club Golfer as an England Top 20 course, the club continues with the widely acclaimed course and environmental improvements accomplished over recent years and may well rise further up the rankings.

Notts Hollinwell has held many prestigious professional and amateur tournaments and in 2018 the club will host Final Qualifying for the 147th Open at Carnoustie. The club’s professionals have held Open Championship records and most unusually for a club pro, played in the Ryder Cup.

The club has fascinating connections not only to ancient monks, Robin Hood, Sherwood Forest, the Ryder Cup and The Open but also to Charles Darwin, Sir Nick Faldo, Sir Peter Alliss, Matt Fitzpatrick and unique world records - read on to discover the amazing heritage of Notts Hollinwell.

History Montage

Roll of Honour

2017Final Open QualifyingJoe Dean, Mark Foster & Laurie Canter
2015Brabazon TrophyCormac Sharvin
2012Boys Amateur ChampionshipMatthew Fitzpatrick
2007Jaques Leglise TrophyGB&I
2004English Amateur ChampionshipJames Heath
2000European Mid AmateurFrancois Illoux
1996English Amateur ChampionshipShaun Webster
1994Ladies British Senior ChampionshipDiane Williams
1992Brabazon TrophyIgnacio Garrido
1989English Ladies Strokeplay ChampionshipSara Robinson
1987British Youth Amateur ChampionshipJames Cook
1983Brabazon TrophyCharles Banks
1982The Haig (Tournament Players Championship)Nick Faldo
1978Ladies British Open Amateur ChampionshipEdwina Kennedy
1977PGA Club Professionals ChampionshipDavid Huish
1976English Ladies Amateur ChampionshipLynne Harrold
1975Brabazon TrophySandy Lyle
1970John Player ClassicChristy O'Connor
1968Sumrie Golf TournamentBrian Huggett
1964English Amateur ChampionshipDavid Marsh
1961Dunlop Golf TournamentKel Nagle
1959Brabazon TrophyDoug Sewell
1957Dunlop MastersEric Brown
1953England v Canada Ladies InternationalEngland
1947Lotus ChampionshipNorman Von Nida
1935English Amateur ChampionshipJ Woollam
1925Daily Mail Golf TournamentCharles Johns
1913Ladies English Open ChampionshipMrs FW Brown
1906News of the World Matchplay ChampionshipAlex Herd

Discover the amazing heritage of Notts Hollinwell

Introduction »

The Club »

Tournaments and Professionals »

The Course and Architects »

Would you like to receive news of our latest promotions?

Your email address is exclusively for us to send occasional promotions and will not be shared or sold.

Please check the email address for typos