Hollinwell clubhouse copyright Tom Ward(2)_[11366]_275_275_16 March 2013
Leading courses on England schedule for 2015

A string of prestigious venues feature on the England Golf 2015 calendar of events just released, none more so than for the blue riband championships for men and women.

The Brabazon Trophy will be hosted by the Notts. Golf Club at Hollinwell, the Men’s English Amateur by Alwoodley in Leeds, while Hunstanton and Sheringham will be the scene of the Women’s Amateur Championship and the Girls’ Championship respectively.
Hollinwell (image copyright Tom Ward) has staged the Brabazon on four occasions. The first in 1959 saw Doug Sewell beat Michael Bonallack by a shot in an 18-hole playoff. Then in 1975 Sandy Lyle won the first of his two Brabazon titles, while Charlie Banks, now a senior international, won in 1983. On the last occasion in 1992, Ignacio Garrido took the title back to Spain. The qualifying venues for the Brabazon will be Liphook (South) and Clitheroe (North).